Trees.

Today I wanted to share my favorite song:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=szp9x1ZlZn4

I like is song for many reasons.

  1. It’s by my favorite band, Twenty One Pilots.
  2. I love the tune. It’s so catchy and fun, yet also so nice and feel-good.
  3. I can relate to it… and I feel emotionally attached to it for some reason. Don’t get me wrong, I do relate, but it makes me feel so hard. It’s weird because it’s not even the most deep song.
  4. I can relate it to God.

I want to talk about #4. These are the lyrics to the song:

“I know where you stand
Silent in the trees
And thats where I am
Silent in the trees.
Why won’t you speak
Where I happen to be?
Silent in the trees
Standing cowardly.

I can feel your breath.
I can feel my death.
I want to know you.
I want to see.
I want to say, hello.”

Not very long. Short and sweet. This portrays the sometimes hopeless mindset of man. You know, when you feel like you want to talk to God but he won’t reach out to you. But we obviously know that God is ALWAYS reaching out for us. So it make the song even better that he says that he is “standing cowardly,” showing that it is in fact his fear that is holding them from talking.

Now this is just one of my interpretations of the song. The beautiful thing about music is that is so individual to each person. You may hear this song and think something completely different than me. Or you might just downright hate it. And that’s fine. And I love that.

This song also shows that music does not have to be sung by a choir for it to beautiful. At the end of the song, the singer screams “HELLO?!” Even though screaming music is associated with bad things, in this song the screaming is so emotional and makes the listener feel his pain and hopelessness.

Leave a Reply

